Skip to main content

Good afternoon,  

Last week, Georgia McRae, transformation manager, wrapped up an Operational Excellence project to create a standardized process for permanent fixed-term faculty appointment, reappointment, and promotion letters.  The OE team partnered with the Office of the Provost, Human Resources, the College of Arts and Sciences, the School of Medicine, and the School of Education, to create a standardized process to delegate authority of such letters from the Office of the Provost to the schools. At the end of the redesign, three training sessions were held with 136 responsible staff in attendance to share this new process. Here are a few of our favorite quotes from the training sessions:    

  • Overall, it was helpful, I have been doing this for a number of years and learned a few new things! Loved being able to participate throughout. 
  • A very thorough approach to a change initiative. I wish all our change management projects received this level of attention and support. Very well done! 

We’re celebrating the official handoff of the responsibility of fixed-term faculty letters to the schools, effective February 13, and are grateful for the chance to support fixed-term faculty through this work.  

We are thankful to the following campus partners for their thought partnership and hard work. We would not have been able to do this without you. 

  • Tonya Entrekin, Human Resources 
  • Janet Farrell, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Matt Hawkins, School of Medicine 
  • Kip Hutchins, School of Medicine 
  • Frank Lewis, Human Resources 
  • Jana Ross, School of Medicine 
  • Alfredo Ruiz, School of Medicine 
  • The late Ann Sager, Human Resources Information Management 
  • Angie Schmidt, School of Medicine 
  • Derek Scupin, Human Resources Information Management 
  • Teresa Wilkinson, College of Arts and Sciences 
  • Madison Wood, School of Education 

Lastly, the success of OE projects relies on the dedication of the project’s leadership team. We are thankful to Executive Vice Provost Amy Hertel, Assistant Provost for Faculty Affairs Lachonya Thompson, and Faculty Affairs Program Associate Meredith O’Dekirk for their diligence throughout this partnership.  

Please feel free to share this email with your colleagues. You can also visit our website to learn more aboutOperational Excellence, read my previous updates, and submit feedback. If you have any questions, please reach out to me I read every email.   


Comments are closed.