Skip to main content


OE Transformation Manager: Jason Derrick

Goal: Streamline the award setup process for federal, industry and non-profit

Approach: The Research Design Team developed an engagement model to add structure to conversations between central research offices and school/unit research administrators (RAs) and playbooks to guide RAs through the pre-award and award setup process.

Next Steps: The engagement model and federal playbook are currently begin piloted while the Design Team continues to work on playbooks for industry, non-profit and clinical awards.

Ross Babinec, Research Administrator
Stacy Barca, Assistant Director, Research Administration
Yana Biblin, Research Administration Service Center Manager
Dani Burns, Grants and Contracts Administrator, School of Medicine
Greg Burress, Associate Director for Finance and Administration, Frank Porter Graham Child Development Institute
Michael Case, Director, Carolina Population Center
Amanda Chang, Assistant Director of Operations, Office of Sponsored Research
Robin Cyr, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, Research Compliance
Christin Daniels, Senior Director of Research and Innovation, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Michael Fern, Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences
Marie Fholer, Business Officer, Biology
Jenifer Gwaltney, Director, Sponsored Projects Accounting
Jill Hamm, Associate Dean for Research and Faculty Development, School of Education
Karen Holmes, Accountant, Department of Chemistry, College of Arts & Sciences
Andy Johns, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
Jim Kelly, Assistant Director, Office of Sponsored Research
Raj Kshatriya, Director of Research Administration, Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Phil Lee, Grants Management Officer, Psychology and Neuroscience
Cara Marlow, Business Officer, Genetics, School of Medicine
Evie McKee, Deputy Director,  Finance and Administrative Services, Carolina Population Center
Vicki Moore, Business Manager, Epidemiology
Caroline Mozingo, Associate Director, Research Services, Highway Safety Research Center
Cassie Myers, Administrative Director, Office of Human Research Ethics
Chris Nelson, Director of the Office of Clinical Trials
David Paul, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research
Holly Rudicil, Accountant, School of Medicine
Diana Stanley, Administrative Director, Institute for Global Health & Infectious Diseases, School of Medicine
Cristiano Susin, Chair, Periodontology
Jennifer Teixeira, Director of Research Administration, Office of Sponsored Research
Tonya Watkins, Director, Research Admin Service Center
Sonya Watson, Accountant, Biology
Sherry Whitaker, Director, Sponsored Programs Office, School of Medicine
Melissa Wood, Business Officer, Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences
Greg Workman, Director, School of Nursing

Travel & Expense

OE Transformation Manager: Candace Reynolds

Goal: Improve user experience for campus travelers

Approach: The Travel & Expense Design Team performed an extensive review to clarify and consolidate UNC travel policies and developed resources and a new website for travelers

Next Steps: Travel Services within Finance & Operations will continue to manage website and resources


Steve Agostini, Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Budget
Kate Allison, Accounting Technician, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Wendy Andrews, Executive Business Manager, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Brandy Battisto, Assistant Director of Business Operations, Athletics
Jennifer Blair, Accounting Director, School of Medicine
Christy Dodson, Assistant Dean for Finance, Kenan-Flagler Business School
Yasser Ghadiry, Accounting Technician, Finance Service Center
Chrissie Greenberg, Director for Finance and HR, Study Abroad
Travis Henderson, Director, Procurement Services and Material Management
Kate Henz, Senior Associate Dean for Operations and Strategy, College of Arts & Sciences
Janet Kelly-Scholle, Associate Director for Communications and Marketing, Service Center of Excellence
Brett Kenney, Accountant, Finance & Operations
Manish Kumar, Assoc. Dean for Finance & Budget Management, College of Arts & Sciences
Beau Jimmerson, Chief Procurement Officer
Cortilya Jones, Accountant, School of Medicine
Angela Kingery, Budget Analyst, Student Affairs
Allison Legge, Senior Associate Director of Enrollment, Admissions
Beth McAndrew, Director of Financial Reporting
Beth Mellott, Business Services Manager, Carolina Housing
Lauren Partin, Assistant Dean for Finance and Business Operations, School of Government
Carly Perin, Executive Director of Finance
Ethel Rodriguez, Accounting Technician, College of Arts & Sciences
Janet Rupert, Director, Accounts Payable & Travel Services
Brian Smith, Senior Assistant Vice Chancellor and Treasurer – Finance
Rod Smith, Internal Controls Accountant, Finance & Operations
Tracy Somers, Assistant Accounting Manager, University Development Office
Katie Thornsvard, Assistant Dean for Finance, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Kathy Uber, Accounting Tech, City and Regional Planning, College of Arts & Sciences
Missilina “Missy” Wilson-Grissom, Travel Team Lead Technician, Finance & Operations
Melanie Wright, Director of Accounting, Service Center of Excellence

Student Employment

OE Transformation Manager: Mieke Lynch

Goal: Provide guidance to the 12,000+ student employees at the University and their supervisors and originators

Approach: The HR Design Team consolidated information on student employment into a “one-stop shop” website. They also rolled out standard principal functions for HR positions, which allows for faster job description creation.

Next Steps: The website launched in October 2019


Carolyn Adams, Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
Adam Beck, Senior Director of Classification and Compensation
Vicki Bradley, Associate Vice Chancellor for Workforce Strategy, Equity and Engagement
Linc Butler, Associate Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
Victoria Dowd, Assistant University Ombuds and Program Specialist, University Ombuds Office
Ashley Hockaday, EHRA Non-Faculty Human Resources Specialist, Office of Human Resources
Lisa Lipscomb, HR Officer, ITS
Tabitha Massey, Director of Human Resources, UBC
Linda Mitchell, HR Consultant, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Erin Pelletier, Human Resources Specialist, College of Arts & Sciences
Roberta Price, Senior Classification and Comp Analyst
Vanessa Ragland, Director of EHRA Non-Faculty HR
Bonnie Smith, Associate Director for Human Resources, Med Ad-Human Resources
Brandy Smith, Human Resources Associate, Housing & Residential Education
Dave Turner, HRIM Business Analyst
Lisa Waldeck, HR Officer, University Development
Jared Ward, Co-Curricular Learning & Assessment Program Coordinator, Carolina Union
Caitlin Webster, HR Consultant, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Lachonya Williams, Assistant Dean of Human Resources, College of Arts & Sciences
Beverly Wyrick, Director, Finance and Administration, The Graduate School


OHR Communications Team

Sheila Corcoran, Creative Director, WSEE
Charlie Dupee, Senior Graphic Designer, WSEE
Kaylon Rutledge, OHR Communications Specialist, WSEE